//
Museum of Motherhood

MamaBlogger365 – Brain Drain by Jennifer Flaten

Summer vacation is here.

On the last day of school, the kids came home with packets and worksheets on various subjects.

As always, their teachers are worried about summer brain drain. They know that kids will lose momentum over the summer and often fall back or behind unless they keep up with their work.

I am well armed to protect my kids from summer brain drain. Unfortunately, I can’t say the same for myself.

Even though we’re only on the fourth day of summer vacation, I can feel my motivation to sit in front of the keyboard packing its bags and heading out for a nice long vacation at the beach.

So far, I have done nothing, writing-wise. Unless, you count grocery lists and thank you cards.

I am busy with errands, chores, breaking up squabbles over whose turn it next and well, sitting outside in the sunshine reading a book or if I am feeling really ambitious, tending the garden.

You know what I really like — sitting there doing nothing; but I also know that I can’t continue to do that. I do have deadlines and I really do want to accomplish something this summer (besides a nice tan).

I know, I know I have to stop procrastinating, although it is really a step in the right direction that I actually sat down and wrote this blog post.

Bio: Jennifer Flaten is a Wisconsin-based writer with three small children who understands the delicate balance between home and work. She knows having a healthy, happy family is a priority, and with that in mind, she has a special interest in health, family and technology. Her works have been published in the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and at various online journals.

MamaBlogger365 needs you! Tell us how you’re re-framing motherhood and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011!

Photo credit: Lazy Days by Jon Luty

About M. Joy Rose

Woman, Mother, Human, Rocker, Educator, Activist Director; Museum of Motherhood President and Founder; MaMaPaLooZa Inc. a company by Women, Promoting (M)others for social, cultural and economic benefit. Dedicated to a more educated, more peaceful, more musical planet.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

