//
Museum of Motherhood

MamaBlogger365 – Pop Culture Preaches Passion by Shira Adler, Diva Mama

I admit to having more than a passing interest in pop culture. And when it comes to certain reality TV shows, my interest is heightened.

No, I’m not much of a Snookie fan, preferring instead MTV’s pro-social themed Buried Life and Made. I will confess to having followed with excitement MTV’s Sun Drop soda launch, since my honey was one of the team leaders on an über-successful campaign that introduced the almost unknown soda into the pop zeitgeist beyond anyone’s expectations.

But as far as my rare, cheesy, TV chill out time is spent — I admit my tastes run more to Clean House, American Pickers, Pawn Stars, almost anything on HGTV, Top Chef, and my fave — this season’s American Idol.

From my perspective as a professional singer, I am blown away by this season’s level of talent, which is more exciting than all previous seasons combined, but that’s not why I’m drawn in.

The show has an incredible, evolved sensibility since Simon departed, focusing more on the development of the talent and less on shaming the contestants. I’m particularly loving the expansive heart-music connection Randy, Jennifer, and Steven are trying to illicit from the hopeful artists.

Last week’s elimination shocked the studio audience, judges, and rabid fans across America. Pia, a competition leader and projected top-three finalist, was surprisingly and mercilessly booted.

Dramatic, yes, but for me personally, the highlight of the show came when Steven Tyler offered his summary of just how wrong this situation was and placed blame where it belonged: squarely on the shoulders of American viewers.

To not vote is one thing, but “to not have passion is unforgivable.”

Indeed, the Aerosmith front man could have been calling for action or raising consciousness for any ethical, moral or civil issue. Of course I’m not presuming that Pia’s Idol career demise is in any way, shape or form on par with concerns such as Japan radiation levels or exit strategy with Libya.

Yet understanding the power mass media and pop culture have on our lives, I found it interesting that the judges chastised us, the home audience, for not stepping up to express our opinions and vote — to make our voices heard.

This was my takeaway and it resonated because I try to live my life every day being more aware, self-attuned and present. I keep my eyes, ears, mind, heart, and soul open for ways to connect to my passion. From this place I can move mountains, if not school boards. I can make my own music in this world and hopefully, my song will make a difference.

So take heart all reality TV show devotees. If we’re lucky, every so often a resonant life-lesson is offered, yes even on television, that reminds us who we are and where we are on our journey. I like to think of it as just a little something special, a high-note of a different kind.

BIO: By day Shira Adler is a cantor, spiritual vocalist, certified pastlife regressionist, voice-over artist, producer, performer, writer/blogger and mompreneur and by night… well, she is actually the same person at night though she does admit to wearing fuzzy socks when no one can see her and hiding a secret stash of Mallomars somewhere near her writing desk for those late night pick-me-ups. In, around, and between her various work activities, she is raising two beyond-the-spectrum children as a single mom (though lovingly gives a shout out to her best friend, editor and soulmate whom she considers the bees knees). Is it any wonder her website’s tag line is One Voice Many Paths? Seriously, look up the definition of a multi-tasking Mama and you will find her picture there. But when it comes to living a life of connection, faith and consciousness Shira is the gal to call — or if you’re fresh out of Mallomars — she’s always happy to give you one. For more information visit: ShiraAdler.com, read her blog at Diva-Mama.com; Social: Twitter (1DivaMama), Facebook (DivaMama1), Tumblr (not really sure, but the name is cute) and LinkedIn (because doesn’t everyone?).

MamaBlogger365 needs you! Tell us how you’re re-framing motherhood and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011!

Photo credit: Studio Microphone by Petr Kratochvil
About M. Joy Rose

Woman, Mother, Human, Rocker, Educator, Activist Director; Museum of Motherhood President and Founder; MaMaPaLooZa Inc. a company by Women, Promoting (M)others for social, cultural and economic benefit. Dedicated to a more educated, more peaceful, more musical planet.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

