//
Womens Health

MamaBlogger365 – Finding My Niche As A Mother Of Twins, by Angelice Tyson


In December 2004, snow and sleet were threatening south Louisiana; however all I was concerned with was my positive home pregnancy test. After months of trying to get pregnant, my husband and I felt enormously blessed on Christmas Eve to learn we were expecting. At the turn of the year, dark clouds rolled in as we learned my Dad’s brain cancer had returned. It is said that every dark cloud has a silver lining, and ours was that we were expecting not just one baby that year but two. This was a nice distraction especially for my mom and me, as we watched my dad fade away to a bed-ridden, yet still witty, middle-aged man we both loved. Only six weeks prior to the twins’ birth, my Dad lost his fight and slipped away peacefully with my mom and me by his side.

No one could ever have prepared me for the emotions I would experience the day my boys arrived. As a first time mom, I was so excited, proud, happy and in love with these two tiny beings. Okay, so they weren’t so tiny; Jackson weighed in at 6 lbs., 10 oz. and Nicholas at 5 lbs., 14oz. I was relieved that they arrived four weeks early. I don’t know how much larger my tummy could have grown, not to mention, I don’t know what hospital would have had room for us. The boys actual due date was September 4th, one week after Hurricane Katrina swept through south Louisiana and Mississippi.

Weeks turned into months and my husband and I found ourselves becoming more confident in managing two babies at time. Change one diaper, change another; feed one, feed another; bathe one, bathe the other; you get the picture. I like to call it the assembly line effect. Managing work, daycare, babies and household chores was exhausting on both of us. By the time the twins were eight months old, I felt lost and tired. After much thought and budget crunching, my husband and I agreed that I would stay home with the twins. It was only a day after I resigned from my job that I found out I was expecting, again!

Our baby girl arrived nine months later, just before Christmas of that year. The twins were so excited and loving to their baby sister. I was dealing with the differences of having a singleton versus two babies at one time. I hardly put her down the first month of her life. I didn’t have to worry about another baby. The twins were walking, beginning to talk and quite independent at such a young age. After being home for ten months, I was ready to go back to work, or so I thought. I lasted a whole six months and the anxiety took over, basically disabling me from functioning at work, and leaving me going through the motions of being a mom and a wife, but not truly living it with a true sense of vitality and life.

It took a couple of months before I listened to my family and friends; before I would seek help from a professional. Very quickly I was diagnosed with major depression. What? I just thought I was a little overwhelmed. Who wouldn’t be with three kids aged two and under, a full-time job and a husband? I left the best for last, because if it weren’t for my loving and supportive husband, I don’t know that I would be writing this today. He stepped up when I couldn’t manage the children, by preparing meals, bathing all three kids and playing and entertaining them.

With the help of a therapist, psychiatrist and my loving family and friends, I have regained a passion for living each day to the fullest and make the most of the time I have with those who are most important to me. As I worked through my depression, and continue to do so, it was through the understanding of other moms, especially twin moms, who had experienced the same issues and challenges that made me realize I was not alone.

Bio: Angelice Tyson’s Gemini Greetings was a distant dream until with the resurgence of energy, she decided to make this dream a reality. Sheenvisions warm and cheerful characters on greeting cards for families with multiples, from twins to quads and possibly more! She says, “I just knew that if I had a hard time finding cards for my twins, it has to be even more difficult for those with triplets and quads. Ideally, these cards will be suited for first time parents with no other children ages four and younger. Of course, I place no restrictions on my work, I just hope that my creations bring smiles to many faces and happiness to many homes.”

“Parents of twins are often concerned about treating each child as an individual. However, parents with multiples aged five and under are less likely to buy one card for each child to give to a playmate or relative for a special occasion. Seeking the savings from buying only one card from the two, three or more kids just makes sense.

“Within the first two years of my twins lives, we received numerous cards for holidays and birthdays that were targeted for just one child and had been scratched out or altered to fit my children‚ who were twins.”

__

Editorial Note: By raising awareness of the issues, concerns and challenges care-givers face, we elevate our understanding of mother’s vital role. Mamapalooza and the Museum of Motherhood are committed to empowering and amplifying the voices of women and mothers. MamaBlogger365 is just one of the ways we do this. If you have a story to tell, please write us at MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com and get involved.

About M. Joy Rose

Woman, Mother, Human, Rocker, Educator, Activist Director; Museum of Motherhood President and Founder; MaMaPaLooZa Inc. a company by Women, Promoting (M)others for social, cultural and economic benefit. Dedicated to a more educated, more peaceful, more musical planet.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

