//
Womens Health

MamaBlogger365 – Two Roads Diverged, By Diva Mama Shira Adler

Today was incredible. The forecast called for 60 degree temperatures – amazing for NY –and I had managed to get a full night’s sleep. I bounced from bed, greased the gears by giving the kids plenty of advance warning and countdown for departure and we left, only 15 minutes behind my desired go-time.

A shadow crossed my sunny disposition when started about our morning errands, and the stores were not yet open. Knowing my Indigo son to be less than pragmatic when faced with thwarted desires and unplanned transitions, I braced for the expected torrent of disappointed cries and frustrated outbursts.

Uncharacteristically calm, he instead recommended we take a walk nearby on a nature trail. This was a surprisingly reasonable and appropriate suggestion from my youngest, whose behaviors are largely the reason my teeth are grinding down to nubs. I jumped at the opportunity to enjoy the day and offered him praise for his stellar idea.

Meandering through woven trails, we eventually came to a split in the road; two paths, two kids, and each wanted to go in a different direction. I was interested but uncommitted to the direction and stood behind them as they discussed their options. I listened to their innocent banter as they decided which was the “right” way to go and felt, suddenly, as carefree and curious as they. What a nice reminder that a plan doesn’t always need to be created, implemented or followed.

What’s the worst thing that could have happened? We could have gotten lost (we didn’t), slipped in the mud (thank God, no) or sprained an ankle (pretty much). I managed to lightly sprain my foot by walking in cute, but highly impractical new clogs I had gotten on clearance at Macy’s the day before… but I digress.            Truly this entire experience reminded me of the mixed joy found in daily life. Newfound discoveries, good and bad, can only be made through bravery, openness and a willingness to try something unexpected when the moment presents.

By walking unknown territory and choosing a path that leads where it may, we are available to delightful surprises no matter how they show up. Had I stuck to my plan and not been open to spontaneity, we wouldn’t have had such a glorious morning.

As we walked the opening strains of a song I learned freshman year of high school came into my mind. It was a musical setting of a Robert Frost poem – one of my favorites. I sang what I could remember out loud as we proceeded slowly back to our car – me limping and smiling all the way:

The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood, And sorry I could not travel both

And be one traveler, long I stood And looked down one as far as I could To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair, And having perhaps the better claim, Because it was grassy and wanted wear; Though as for that the passing there Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay In leaves no step had trodden black.

Oh, I kept the first for another day! Yet knowing how way leads on to way, I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh Somewhere ages and ages hence: Two roads diverged in a wood, and I— I took the one less traveled by, And that has made all the difference.

A chance to explore – no reason or reticence – not waiting – nor wanting – just moving with a force unseen – an internal motivation not thwarted by any grand design or circumstance.

BIO: By day Shira Adler is a cantor, spiritual vocalist, certified past life regressionist, voice-over artist, producer, performer, writer/blogger and mompreneur and by night . . . well, she is actually the same person at night though she does admit to wearing fuzzy socks when no-one can see her and hiding a secret stash of mallomars somewhere near her writing desk for those late night pick-me-ups.  In, around and between her various work activities, she is raising two beyond-the-spectrum children as a single mom (though lovingly gives a shout out to her best friend, editor and soulmate whom she considers the bees knees).   Is it any wonder her website’s tag line is One Voice Many Paths?  Seriously, look up the definition of a multi-tasking Mama and you will find her picture there.  But when it comes to living a life of connection, faith and consciousness Shira is the gal to call – or if you’re fresh out of mallomars – she’s always happy to give you one.  For more information visit: ShiraAdler.com, read her blog at Diva-Mama.com and follow her via the usual fun spread of social: Twitter (1DivaMama), Facebook (DivaMama1), Tumblr (not really sure, but the name is cute) & LinkedIn (because doesn’t everyone?).

 

About M. Joy Rose

Woman, Mother, Human, Rocker, Educator, Activist Director; Museum of Motherhood President and Founder; MaMaPaLooZa Inc. a company by Women, Promoting (M)others for social, cultural and economic benefit. Dedicated to a more educated, more peaceful, more musical planet.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

