//
Museum of Motherhood

Employment History of the SAHM by: Guest Blogger Scattermom!

Employment History of the SAHM

by: Scattermom aka Stephanie L.

I was backing up my photographs–the laptop is making a clicking noise. (Seriously. And it’s still new. /shakes fist/) In the process I ran across my last resume.
Resume` 2008

Around the same time I also read a post about how staying home with your kids is a career choice not a moral imperative.

Right on! I don’t think I am morally superior (really, people?) for staying home to raise the Small People. I agree completely that this decision was conscious choice made the day I quit my job when Zach was 14 months old.

Then there was finding the resume’ which made me start to consider how I was going to document my current employment. Because what I’m doing is actual work–there is no bon-bon eating while my delightful children play neatly and quietly together on the floor. The stereotypical response to that statement is “yeah, but it’s not work/work. How much cerebral activity is there in Duck, Duck Goose?” To which I am now going to start responding with: “Hold up a second. Sure, being a part of drug development research (and the myriad of tasks therein) was full of mental challenges. But let’s stop over-selling the degree to which most people, on most days, use their full mental capacity at work.” There are many pretty phrases–Coordinates preparation of study materials –to describe making binders. Most of the work involved with binder-making is copy, collate, and ship. Yes, you can screw that part up (raises hand) but that’s carelessness, not brain-activity. “Writes internal and external correspondence” means I emailed people. A lot of times those emails didn’t even require thought on my part–virtual paper shuffling. This is mental challenge? Sitting through hours of planning meetings? Bo–ring.

Now that we’ve cleared all of that up. In 2012, my kids will be 6 and 4 years old and Zach will start kindergarten. As I see it, this will be my first true opportunity to go back to work. For us, the thought of paying for two kids to go to “school” (aka daycare) doesn’t make financial sense. I’m never working for free again. But since Zach will be in public school (free! social program! yay!), our cost would just be for Elliot. That’s doable.

I had the following three thoughts in short succession.

Um, 2012 is less than 2 years from now–I need to hurry up and decide what I want to be when I grow up.

OMG, by 2012 there will be a 4 year gap in my employment history. No one’s going to hire me!

What is the best way to sell my current activities as beneficial to a potential employer?

Entire Article : Scattermom: A scatteredmom’s daily life

Discussion

One thought on “Employment History of the SAHM by: Guest Blogger Scattermom!

  1. Hey there this is kinda of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or
    if you have tto manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog
    soon but have no coding know-how so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Posted by bit.do | October 2, 2014, 20:48

Leave a Reply

