//
Museum of Motherhood

When Your Child Turns 18, Does Parenting Stop?

By: Alexis Chapman

This was a topic that was brought up on the JoinMama community by a member. www.joinmama.ning.com When does the responsibility for parenting end?  Should parents close the door to their children and not be overly active in their lives once they turn 18, the legal age of an adult in the United States?  My opinion is definitely not!  I do not have children yet, but given the experience that I have had in my life, with parents who decided not to sever the cords when their 3 children turned 18, I will follow in their footsteps.  A stronger relationship between the child and parent can be formed once the child is older.  The child will have more experiences and be able to reflect on their childhood experiences.  Also, this allows a human to human relationship to occur between parent and child.  I consider this an evolution of the relationship, in a positive way.  I cannot imagine being 33 and having the rapport with my parents that I had when I was 16, it would be awful.  I have been able to apologize for some of the choices I have made, along with having a better understanding of the choices my parents made.  One decision was getting divorced, I initially wanted to title this post “Why I thank my Mom for leaving my Dad and other things I am grateful for as an adult” but my Mother didn’t think that would be appropriate.  I explained that it was just some dark humor and that I would never maliciously slam my parents via a public forum, and she said she knew this and understood, but that it would be more appropriate and not be offensive if I steered clear of that title.  Out of respect for my Mother, and this alone, I 86’d  the title.

It’s true, I am thankful my Mother left my Father and not because it was easy for either parent to deal with divorce, and not because I was horribly spoiled because of the divorce (that was the younger sister) but because as an adult I can look at the HUGE leap of faith my mother took and the strength that she had to make a decision to leave the man she had been with for 17 years, 3 kids later and working full time in a small town where our last name was held in esteem and go out on her own, circa the 1980’s. at age 35, 2 years older then I am now.  I would never have appreciated the trials she went through or the sheer force of will that this woman possess had I not had a relationship with her as an adult.  The healing process between teenager and adult Alexis with my Mom would never had occurred, and who knows if I would have remained bitter of my interpretation of events as opposed to being an adult and experiencing an adult relationship with both mother and father.  This doesn’t mean that I don’t view my parents as parents and love them as a child loves them, because that is far from the truth.  As stated earlier, it is an evolution of the relationship and bond between my parents and myself.  This is the same for both of my siblings as well.  Not only has the relationship between my parents and each sibling evolved, but the relationship between us siblings has evolved as well.

Does this mean that everything is hunky dory and that we all get along like some Norman Rockwell dream? No.  But I do know that there have been personal adult issues that my siblings and I have gone through that would have been much more difficult without the relationship we currently have with our parents.  For me, it was a combination of mental health and substance abuse.  Without the strength of my core family and stability, understanding  and structure that they could offer, I wouldn’t be here.  Again, not a fairy tale situation, just an example of what hard work and continuing to bridge communication gaps and gain understanding can do.  And it’s awesome as a child of these 2 flawed, unique, amazing human beings to have a family dinner where they can be in the same room as each other and understand that they brought 3 children into this world, all of who are well over the age of 18, yet they are still their children and we can all laugh together.  To me, that is family.  That is an example of why parenting shouldn’t end when the children turn 18.  That’s just the beginning of the next evolution.

Discussion

12 thoughts on “When Your Child Turns 18, Does Parenting Stop?

  1. Hi, this weekend is fastidious designed for me, since this point in time i am reading this impressive informative post here at my home.

    Posted by office furniture gallatin tn | July 20, 2013, 02:37
  2. A website written for a multicultural audience will always be at least slightly different than a website specifically targeting an all American audience, or an all British audience, or
    an all Australian audience. B2B online marketing focuses on several key aspects.
    Types of training available would include Affiliate Marketing,
    Article Marketing, Email Marketing or PPC (Pay Per Click) Marketing.

    Posted by Victoria | August 11, 2013, 02:54
  3. To be as informed as possible, read as many
    books, articles, and blogs on organic gardening as you can.
    Alternate physical labor with mental labor to give your bod and your brain
    equal down time. A large garden may sound great,
    but the work involved can make it a major source of
    stress.

    Posted by webpage | August 14, 2013, 10:47
  4. At the UFC 169: Dominick Cruz vs Renan Barao weigh-ins,all 24 fighters using part in saturdy night’s UFC 169 fights will move on the scale Sat.

    February 1 evening and we’ll have the live online
    video info here Are you looking for UC 169 Live Stream?

    Special Fathom Features: UFC 169: Dominick Cruz vs Renan Barao broadcast LIVE to movie
    theaters nationwide from the Promotion Ultimate Fighting Championship MGM Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey,
    United States

    NCM Fathom Events and the Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) are
    celebrating the organization’s 20th Anniversary with UFC 169: CRUZ VS BARAO broadcast LIVE to select movie theaters nationwide on Sat Feb 1, 2014 at 10:
    00pm ET / 9:00pm CT.

    Posted by UFC 169 LIVE STREAM | January 20, 2014, 15:26
  5. Why users still use to read news papers when in this technological globe
    everything is existing on net?

    Posted by http://flora-hotel.pl/zdolnosc-kredytowa.php | March 1, 2014, 21:44
  6. What’s up i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace, when i read this piece of writing i thought i could also create comment due to this brilliant article.

    Posted by Shannan | March 21, 2014, 13:44
  7. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.

    I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some
    interesting things or advice. Maybe you could write next articles referring to
    this article. I wish to read even more things
    about it!

    Posted by Earnestine | April 14, 2014, 02:44
  8. I enjoy what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll.

    Posted by hoc sao | April 14, 2014, 23:51
  9. Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister
    stole my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a 30 foot drop,
    just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83 views.

    I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

    Posted by http://ascofapsi.org.co | May 7, 2014, 08:02
  10. Internet marketing training includes SEO training, PPC advertising training,
    SSM training and much more. From customer satisfaction to
    the importance of certain aspects of your company, this is a very versatile option to use in your online
    marketing questionnaires. When looking to jump into the internet marketing realm,
    first thing is first; set up shop.

    Posted by preise singlebörsen | May 17, 2014, 11:10
  11. It’s wonderful that you are getting ideas from
    this article as well as from our argument made here.

    Posted by Cameron | January 11, 2015, 14:28
  12. はじめまして!手短にコメントしようと思います。
    あなたは、顔のムダ毛がなければいいのにとふと思ったことがありませんか?私は、あります。
    私は、もともと毛が多い体質のためか、自分の産毛が邪魔臭いと思いやすいタイプだと思います。

    そのせいで、メイクがスムーズにいかないような気がするんです。
    しかも、産毛が太いと顔が1トーン暗く見えてしまうような気がしてしょうがないんです。
    自分の産毛のことに気になりやすいせいか、自分に自信が持てなかったりすることが結構あります。
    私は、若いころからそんな自分でいたのですが、これからは自信をもって生きていたいと思うようになりました。
    そこで、脱毛エステで顔脱毛をしようと思っています。
    顔の産毛が気にならなくなったら、少しは自分に自信を持てる様になるから、そうしたらもっと飲み会とか開放的なところに行こうと思っています。
    脱毛サロンでも、毛周期の都合から1回じゃ効果はすべてではないそうです。
    なので、私の自信を取り戻すためにも、継続的に続けようと思っています。
    私のちょっとした日記でした。読んでくれてありがとう。

    Posted by フェイシャル脱毛 | March 6, 2017, 17:57

Leave a Reply

