//
Museum of Motherhood

MamaBlogger365: Oh, The Irony by Peryl Manning

Parenting can be a tug of war with yourself. Every decision is a push here and pull there: what’s best now versus what’s best long term; what’s right versus what’s feasible; what kind of parents we are in our fantasies versus how we can realistically maintain our sanity. Unless you embrace the irony, every parenting decision is potentially crazy-making. So give yourself a break if you find yourself:

- Yelling at the top of your lungs at everyone to, well, stop yelling, or hysterically telling a tantruming three-year old to “calm down.” [Note to Word spell check: if you don't believe that tantrum can be used as a verb, please come over to my house and try to serve my three-year-old a bread product with seeds on it.]

- Nodding along while your friend goes on about organic, whole grain, hand harvested, kind-to-the-earth, socially responsible cereal as if you agree, and hoping your kids don’t give you up by describing the cocoa, puffy, chocolate, nitrate-filled, third world-hating cereal they had for breakfast.

- Telling your kids in no uncertain terms that everyone will sleep in their own beds tonight, while secretly hoping someone wakes up from a bad dream needing a cuddle.

- Telling others how well your kids get along when one is attempting to tear the other’s ear off.

- Telling your kids they need to focus, when you can’t remember the last time you thought about one thing for more than thirty… hey, I totally see Woody Allen over there!

- Wanting to foster creativity while not wanting to clean Play-Doh out of the carpet.

- Wanting to take your kids to swim lessons but having absolutely no interest in getting into a bathing suit yourself.

- Telling your kids that the part of the banana with the minuscule brown spot is perfectly fine while you would secretly never that eat nasty old thing yourself.

- Having less money, less time, and less sanity than you’ve ever had, and somehow being happier than you’ve ever been before.

BIO: Peryl Manning is a freelance writer and stay-at-home-mother to two small boys. She juggles her home and her boys, her writing and her volunteer work with varying degrees of success, and is convinced of only one certainty: Parenting is really, really challenging. Since being blindsided and overwhelmed, overjoyed and then at times underwhelmed by the whole business of motherhood, she has had a lot to say about it, and says some of it here. ’Parenting ad absurdum’ is now on Twitter: @momadabsurdum. Should I be following you? Let me know! And if you would like to be on my highly classified secret double-lockdown mailing list to be advised of new posts, leave a note or send an email to parentingadabsurdum@gmail.com. http://blog.seattlepi.com/parentingadabsurdum/

-

Contribute to MamaBlogger365 and support Mamapalooza and the Museum of Motherhood’s campaign for a permanent home in 2011! We can’t do it without YOU!

About Joy Rose

Museum of Motherhood: Founder, NYC President and Founder of MAMAPALOOZA Inc. a company by Women, Promoting (M)others for social, cultural and economic benefit; championing opportunities for Women, Mom-artists & Educators. Reaching millions through a team of worldwide event coordinators, media and MAMAPALOOZA talent, Joy is committed a lasting legacy of empowerment and support, while redefining what it means to be a modern mother. MAMAPALOOZA has pioneered a new culture of mom-inspired art and performance. Joy’s also the founder and lead singer of the rock band, 'Housewives On Prozac', and is working with the MFI (Motherhood Foundation Inc) towards the creation of The Museum Of Motherhood. Feminist, Activist, Artist; Mother.

Discussion

14 thoughts on “MamaBlogger365: Oh, The Irony by Peryl Manning

  1. Ah yes, the irony of motherhood where we contradict ourselves at every turn. By the way I never eat the brown spots on the banana either but my daughter would if I told her to which I have. I have to say though motherhood means life will never be boring again.

    Posted by Joy | February 21, 2011, 16:47
  2. I love this. I can add feigning a calm confidence while secretly second guessing and questioning every move I make as mother – am I giving her a complex? did I just disrupt her attachment to me? have I shaken her confidence? AAAAAAAAHHH!

    Posted by MOMSICLE VIBE | February 21, 2011, 17:59
  3. Okay, I’ll give myself a break, because I think I can relate to every point you made here.

    Posted by Dawn | February 21, 2011, 21:45
  4. LOVE IT!!!!!! especially the new word, tantruming. sometimes it seems inappropriate to tell my children to stop tantruming while I am tantruming…

    Posted by tamara | February 22, 2011, 00:03
  5. “- Telling your kids in no uncertain terms that everyone will sleep in their own beds tonight, while secretly hoping someone wakes up from a bad dream needing a cuddle.”

    That one is my constant conundrum. I secretly love it when he comes to cuddle with us in his sleepy state. Nighttime screaming is not welcomed though.

    Posted by KLZ | February 22, 2011, 13:51
  6. Reminds me of when I was working out this morning. I’ve been yelling at my daughter about making sure she has her inhaler & I needed min while I worked out this morning. It will be in my pocket tomorrow. THe yelling, I’m going to have to work on.

    Posted by Nicole @ Help! Mama Remote... | February 22, 2011, 23:18
  7. These points are all so true! Glad to hear I’m not the only mom feeding my kids less than perfect foods occasionally (and then not fessing up to it!

    Posted by Mrs.Mayhem | February 23, 2011, 08:10
  8. I am such a fan of Peryl’s. The world is a better place with her humorous, intelligent perspective on parenting. More Peryl, please.

    Posted by Jhene | February 23, 2011, 10:00
  9. Love, love, love Peryl! I can’t get enough of her. :)

    This post was so spot on. I find myself imersed in enough actual irony on a daily basis to write ten Alanis songs.

    Posted by Mandyland | February 23, 2011, 13:02
  10. Each one of these rings so true!!

    The irony, the contradictions…I guess I must embrace it!!

    Love Peryl! XO

    Posted by Melissa (Confessions of a Dr.Mom) | February 24, 2011, 00:39
  11. So true! Tantruming is a verb. I saw it in action this morning from a 15 year old and 17 year old over a pair of sandals.

    Posted by Motpg | February 25, 2011, 15:06
  12. Full, spot-on agreement with every item on the list. You always speak the universal mother language Peryl! Is it bad that I’m deviously laughing about getting one over on my girls with the browned bananas? The older one refuses to eat over ripe bananas now, but I can still get away with it with the 1.5 year old. He-he-he…

    Posted by Mommy Crib Notes | February 27, 2011, 21:02
  13. Absolutely. And I’m so with you on the verb tantrumming. In fact, I can think of a lot of strange verbs that motherhood has caused me to create. Peryl, you are fabu as always.

    Posted by Organic Motherhood with Cool Whip | March 23, 2011, 16:10
  14. PS And I’m also with MOTG. Me and my 34 year old sister have been known to tantrum over sandals. And I’m not talking about when we were children.

    Posted by Organic Motherhood with Cool Whip | March 23, 2011, 16:13

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

